Supporting your child: Expectations for learning

There are seven areas which form the basis of the curriculum. These areas are made up of prime areas and specific areas (listed below). Each area of learning has a set of related expectations for typical development through the Early Years. Most children will start Reception being secure in the knowledge, understanding and abilities within the 30 – 50 month phase and will be beginning to demonstrate the knowledge, understanding and abilities within the 40 – 60 month phase. By the end of Reception, most children will have reached the Early Learning Goals (ELGs) at the expected level. Some might still have knowledge skills and understanding which are emerging whilst others may be exceeding these Early Learning Goals in some areas. (The terms ‘expected’, ’emerging’ and ‘exceeding’ are how we communicate your child’s level of development at the end of the Reception year.)

The prime areas are:
* Personal, social and emotional development (making relationships; self-confidence and self-awareness; managing feelings and behaviour)
* Communication and language (listening and attention; understanding; speaking)
* Physical development (moving and handling; health and self-care)

The specific areas are:
* Literacy (reading; writing)
* Mathematics (numbers; shape, space and measures)
* Understanding the world (people and communities; the world; technology)
* Expressive arts and design (exploring and using media and materials, being imaginative)

Please take the time to read the attachments below which will help to support your knowledge and understanding of documents that are used within school.

Development Matters 30-50 months

Development Matters 40-60 months